How Facebook and Twitter differ in labeling Trump’s US election posts

Social media companies have posted warning signs on several of President Donald Trump’s posts falsely claiming victory in the US election and making unsubstantiated allegations about the counting of legitimate ballot papers.

The companies differ in how directly they challenge false statements. Twitter called tweets “misleading” and limited the way they could be shared and viewed. Facebook responded to more posts but did not describe the information as misleading or limit the way it could be shared or viewed.

Here is a selection of how companies have dealt with Trump’s positions since election night:

Wednesday 12:45 AM ET (11:15 AM EST)– TRUMP: “I’m going to make a statement tonight. A big win!”

Facebook placed a label under the entry: “Votes are counted. The winner of the 2020 US presidential election was not predicted.”

Twitter has chosen not to flag the tweet. A spokeswoman said it was unclear what Trump was referring to by “a big win”.

Wednesday 12:49 AM ET (11:19 AM EST) – TRUMP: “We’re BIG, but they’re trying to steal the vote. We’ll never make them do it. Votes can’t be cast after the polls are closed!”

Facebook placed a label under the post: “The final results may differ from the initial number of votes, as the election counting continues for days or weeks.”

Twitter hid the tweet so a user would have to click to view it and restricted responses. The label read, “Some or all of the content shared in this tweet is controversial and could be misleading about an election or other citizenship process.”

Wednesday 1:21 AM ET (11:51 AM EST) – TRUMP (in the live video): “To be honest, we won this election … This is a serious fraud in our nation.”

Facebook placed a label under the video: “The final results may differ from the initial number of votes as the election count continues for days or weeks.”

Twitter chose not to flag the tweet because clips from a press conference did not violate its guidelines and numerous press organizations carried the video.

Wednesday 10:04 AM ET (8:34 PM IST) – TRUMP: “Last night I led in many key states, often solidly, in almost all cases in which Democrats were led and controlled. Then they magically disappeared one after the other when surprising ballots were counted. VERY STRANGE and the ‘pollsters’ have it completely and historically misunderstood! “

Facebook placed a label under the post: “The final results may differ from the initial number of votes, as the election counting continues for days or weeks.”

Twitter hid the tweet so a user would have to click to view it and restricted responses. The label read, “Some or all of the content shared in this tweet is controversial and could be misleading about an election or other citizenship process.”

Wednesday 10:17 a.m. ET (8:47 p.m. IST) – TRUMP: “How is it that every time you count mail-in ballots they are so devastating in terms of percentage and destructiveness?”

Facebook placed a label below the post: “As expected, this year election results will take longer. Millions of people in the US have voted by mail and it is taking longer to count ballots.”

Twitter did not flag the tweet.

Wednesday 10:35 a.m. ET (9:05 p.m. IST) – TRUMP: “WHAT IS THAT ALL?” (Quote tweet of claim challenging legitimacy of ballot redemption in Michigan)

Twitter hid the quoted tweet, requiring a user to click to view it, narrowing the responses but not labeling Trump’s post.

The comment was not displayed on Facebook.

Wednesday 11.55 a.m. ET (10:25 p.m. IST) – TRUMP: “You can find Biden votes everywhere – in Pennsylvania, Wisconsin and Michigan. So bad for our country!”

Twitter did not flag the tweet.

The comment was not displayed on Facebook.

Wednesday 12:01 p.m. ET (10:31 p.m. IST) – TRUMP: “You are working hard to have 500,000 votes disappear in Pennsylvania – ASAP. Likewise Michigan and others!”

Facebook placed a label under the post: “Electoral officials follow strict rules when it comes to counting, processing and reporting ballot papers.”

Twitter hid the tweet so a user would have to click to view it and restricted responses. The label read, “Some or all of the content shared in this tweet is controversial and could be misleading about an election or other citizenship process.”

.

Source link : https://gadgets.ndtv.com/social-networking/features/us-election-results-2020-donald-trump-joe-biden-facebook-twitter-misinformation-posts-2321091#rss-gadgets-all